Kingsolver among Women’s Prize short-listed authors for Flight Behavior

Barbara Kingsolver moved from The Women’s Prize long list to short list recently, alongside authors Kate Atkinson, A.M. Homes, Hilary Mantel, Maria Semple and Zadie Smith. The winner will be announced at an award ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall in Southbank Centre, London, on June 5.

Launched in 1996, the prize (formerly known as The Orange Prize) is awarded annually and celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. Kingsolver won in 2010 for The Lacuna. An article on this year’s literary achievements can be found here.

* * *

Other recent honors for Flight Behavior have included: the Independent Bookseller Award Shortlist; Best Literary Author of 2012 and Best Literary Fiction of 2012 in the first annual BEA Armchair Awards (Book Expo America); a Nautilus gold award in fiction and silver award in ecology / environment writing; The Orion Press annual Book Award Shortlist; and a Library of Virginia Literary Award nomination.

Latest News